As leaders across diverse religious and spiritual communities around the globe, we call on governments to develop and implement a Fossil Fuel Non-Proliferation Treaty.

We have been granted a gift, an earth created in all its diversity, vitality, and abundance, for which we are called upon to be stewards. But this role of stewardship has been overshadowed by neglect, exploitation, and unsustainable consumption that threaten the natural balance, social harmony, and existence of life on earth.

Too many coal mines and oil and gas wells are already under production, setting the world on course to fail to meet the Paris Agreement's goal of 1.5°C. To avoid the worst impacts of the climate crisis, we must hold ourselves, our neighbours, our governments, accountable and collectively act. ... The burning of coal, oil, and gas is responsible for 86% of CO2 emissions in the past decade, according to the IPCC (The UN Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change). Just 100 companies account for more than 70% of emissions. With the emissions also come the costs of local pollution, environmental degradation, and health impacts associated with extracting, refining, transporting, and burning fossil fuels. ...

The science surrounding the most urgent danger facing humanity is undeniable: to be good caretakers of our common home, we must act and phase out the production of fossil fuels.

The current scale of the climate crisis requires a cooperative global solution that addresses the fossil fuel industry directly. We call on governments to urgently commence negotiations to develop and implement a **Fossil Fuel Non-Proliferation Treaty**, laying out a binding global plan to:

- 1. End expansion of any new coal, oil or gas production in line with the best available science as outlined by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and the United Nations Environment Programme;
- 2. Phase-out existing production of fossil fuels in a manner that is fair and equitable, taking into account the respective dependency of countries on fossil fuels and their capacity to transition;
- 3. Ensure a global just transition to 100% access to renewable energy globally, support dependent economies to diversify away from fossil fuels, and enable all people and communities, not least the Global South, to flourish.

We hail from many faiths and beliefs, but together we can remedy the decades of negligence to safeguard our coexistence with this earth. Just as our beliefs are entrenched in religious and spiritual teachings, our response to the climate crisis must be deeply rooted in science and equity to heal the planet and people alike.

We have a narrow window of opportunity to act which is why we are joining the growing chorus of Indigenous Peoples, civil society leaders, youth, cities, lawmakers, academics, and scientists calling for a global treaty to phase out fossil fuels and support a just transition powered by clean energy and a sustainable future for all.

The Religious Diversity Centre Climate Action Group is pleased to present this Statement of the Call for a Fossil Fuel Non-Proliferation Treaty as endorsed by religious leaders and organisations from across Aotearoa New Zealand.

The Anglican Diocese of Dunedin Synod
The Somaliland Society in New Zealand

Archbishop Paul Martin SM, Catholic Archdiocese of Wellington

Religious Society of Friends in Aotearoa New Zealand

The Spiritual Assembly of the Bahá'is, New Zealand

The Council of Christians and Muslims, Auckland

The Temple Sinai Board, Wellington, Aotearoa New Zealand

The Right Rev Rose Luxford, Moderator, Presbyterian Church, New Zealand

The Rev Peter Taylor, President, Te Hāhi Weteriana o Aotearoa, Methodist Church, New Zealand

Clare Goodwin, Group Coordinator, Sukyo Mahikari

Aliah Anne Garrett, Minister, Inayati Sufi Order group

Bishop Justin Duckworth Anglican Bishop of Wellington

The Rt Rev Richard Randerson, retired Anglican Bishop, Wellington

The Rt Rev Dr Peter Carrell, Bishop of Anglican Diocese of Christchurch

Pax Christi, Aotearoa New Zealand

Bishop Peter Cullinane, Emeritus Bishop, Catholic Diocese of Palmerston North

Bishop Owen Dolan, Retired Catholic Bishop, Palmerston North

The Sisters of Our Lady of the Missions in Aotearoa New Zealand and Samoan Province

The Good Shepherd Sisters from Aotearoa New Zealand

Presentation Sisters, New Zealand

New Zealand Dominican Sisters.

The Waikato Theosophical Study Centre

St Peter's Anglican Parish, Onehunga, Auckland

The Bay of Islands Uniting Parish

The Otago Peninsula Anglican Parish

The Religious Diversity Centre in Aotearoa New Zealand

The Youth Leadership Council, Ngā Rangatahi o Māramatanga, of the Religious Diversity Centre

The Methodist Church Climate Justice Working Group, Aotearoa New Zealand

The Methodist Church of Aotearoa New Zealand Tauiwi Strategy Meeting

St. Brigid Catholic Parish, Feilding

St Matthew-in-the-City Anglican Parish, Auckland

The Ecology Justice and Peace Commission, Catholic Archdiocese of Wellington
The Justice Peace & Development Group of the Catholic Parish of Ōtari, Wellington
Cityside Baptist Church, Mt Eden, Auckland

Palmerston North Interfaith Group

Kumar Kumareswaran, Sathya Sai Wellington, Service Coordinator - Protect The Planet Initiatives

Palmerston North Catholic Justice Peace Development and Ecology Commission Steering Group

Rev Dr Peter Matheson, Emeritus Professor, Knox Theological College, Dunedin

Professor Regina Scheyvens, Professor of International Development, Massey University

Professor Murray Rae, Theology Programme, University of Otago

The Spiritual Assembly of the Bahá'is, Palmerston North

The Rev Lawrence Kimberley, Former Dean of Christchurch Cathedral

Tom Lawn Rev Dr Janet Crawford Karen Lyons
Bruce Cash Maria Cash Darlene Westrupp

Anne Gibbons Paul Green Rev'd Hm Graham-Michoel OSBC

Rev Dr Douglas Pratt Megan Blake Alison Taylor **Ruth Smithies** Wren Green Andrew Herbert Tui Aroha Williams **Bob Stewart** Mary Nissen Firoz Patel Rev Jean McElhaney Catherine Woeber Gabrielle Watchman Mary Ryan Gloria Calcutta Marie Skidmore Rabbi JoEllen Duckor Graeme Duncan

Marie Skidmore Rabbi JoEllen Duckor Graeme Dur Miriam Sage Barbara Arnold Jill Jackson Wayne Buck Michael Kaplan MD PhD Kama Weir Wendy Earles Graeme Reeves Lyn Lewis

Anthony Green Leen Auperle Margaret Steedman

Chris Peterson Ian Harris Patricia Carson-Swanston

Mary Hurley Sarwat Tasneem Rick Budd Elena Philp Archie Kerr Rosalie Harvey Peter Dopson Paula Charvis Stanley Barnes Zachariah Duke Helen Biggs E Heslin S D Williams Philip Plimber Keith Young F Andi Lolo Phill Casuell Angela Harper Ruth Aston Noella Dushime Carol Johnson E Pau Gabrielle Gibb G Pau R Yea Lindsay Kerr Gillian Gibb Colin Fenton Revd. B.A. Walker Jenny Boyack

June Latham Laurie Chisholm Dr Mary Nash Sunlou Liuvaie Rev. Julia Budd Paul Harper Dr Franco Vaccarino Lynda Whitwell Rev. Rob Yule Sarah Steer Victoria Sibley-Bentley **Ruth Mortimer** Rev. John Read Rev. John Hornblow Zandra Vaccarino **Becky Demchick** Lynley Boyd Mary McIntyre

Amy Bostock Kelly Dombroski Dr Maria Power MTh (Hons)

Signed on November 16th, 2023: Jocelyn Armstrong (co-chair RDC Trust Board), and the RDC Climate Action Group –

Dr. Paul Blaschke, Dr Mary Eastham, Robert Gibb, Dr Richard Milne, Rod Oram.